Cleveland Orchestra, Joffrey Ballet team up for concert

August 14, 2011
Hudson Hub Times


Following acclaimed appearances with The Cleveland Orchestra at the Blossom Festival in 2009 and 2010, the world-renowned Joffrey Ballet returns to Blossom for two evening performances on Aug. 20 and 21.

Both performances will start at 8 p.m.

The company joins The Cleveland Orchestra to perform a program of five works from the Chicago company's repertory. The Orchestra will play from Blossom's orchestra pit under the direction of Tito Muñoz, who served as assistant conductor of The Cleveland Orchestra from 2007 to 2010. Muñoz conducted each of the Joffrey's performances at Blossom during the past two summers, and toured with The Joffrey Ballet during the 2010-11 season.

The program will include:

n "Night," with choreography by Julia Adam and the music a commissioned score by Matthew Pierce

n Tschaikovsky's Pas de Deux from "Swan Lake," with choreography by George Balanchine

n "After the Rain," with choreography by Christopher Wheeldon and music by Arvo Pärt's Tabula Rasa and Spiegel im Spiegel

n Othello-duet, with choreography by Lar Lubovitch and the music a commissioned score by Elliot Goldenthal

n Stravinsky Violin Concerto, with choreography by George Balanchine

Ballet performances with The Cleveland Orchestra are made possible in part through the support of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Pavilion tickets are $37, $42 and $53; box seats are $93.

Lawn tickets are $23. Two children under 18 will be admitted free to the lawn with each adult ticket purchased; they must be accompanied by an adult. Lawn passes for "Under 18s" are available online at, at the Severance Hall Ticket Office, or at the Blossom box office the day of the concert.

The concerts are at Blossom Music Center, 1145 Steels Corners Road in Cuyahoga Falls. There is free parking for all performances; upgrades available for purchase.

For details or to order tickets, call 216-231-1111 or 800-686-1141, or visit