The Joffrey Ballet Celebrates its Silver Anniversary of The Nutcracker

November 6, 2012
TCW Magazine
Cindy Burns

Content

25 Years of Holiday Magic

The Joffrey Ballet Celebrates its Silver Anniversary of The Nutcracker. The 25th anniversary production begins on Friday, December 7 and runs through Thursday, December 27. Make this holiday season stand out by starting a family tradition with The Joffrey Ballet as they perform Robert Joffrey's Nutcracker on stage at the Auditorium Theatre in Chicago.

For an extra special holiday treat, don't miss the Nutcracker Family Dinner to be hosted by co-chairs Laura Kofoid and Carol Stone together with the Woman's Board of the Joffrey Ballet. The family-style dinner will be held at the Palmer House Hilton on Saturday, December 15 beginning at 5:15PM. Festivities include face painting, photo booths, games, holiday crafts and other exciting activities. Performances are available before or after the dinner at 2-7PM at the Auditorium Theatre. Transportation is provided via trolleys.

“I danced with The Joffrey Ballet when this production was created in 1987,” sayes Ashley C. Wheater, Joffrey Ballet artistic director. “I remember our days in Iowa City, when we learned, rehearsed and, ultimately, premiered this ballet. Robert Joffrey’s Nutcracker, and in particular the first act party scene, is unique in its attention to detail. His Nutcracker is a celebration of American Christmas traditions, as meaningful today as they were during their first performance in 1987. Whether you are seeing The Nutcracker as a child for the first time, or grew up with the story, there is always something familiar and something brand new.”

“Celebrating the 25th Anniversary of Robert Joffrey’s Nutcracker, which has become the number one Nutcracker in America, is a huge milestone for the company,” shares Christopher Clinton Conway, Joffrey Ballet executive director. “Every year for the past quarter century, thousands of families have made a place for the Joffrey’s Nutcracker in their holiday traditions, creating treasured memories that last a lifetime. In this day and age of uncertainty on so many levels, we need the warmth, beauty and magic that this ballet brings into our lives.”

The 25th Anniversary production schedule of Robert Joffrey’s The Nutcracker is as follows: Friday, Dec. 7, 7 pm; Saturday, Dec. 8, 2 pm and 7 pm; Sunday, Dec. 9, 2 pm; Thursday, Dec. 13, 7 pm; Friday, Dec. 14, 7 pm; Saturday, Dec. 15, 2 pm and 7 pm; Sunday, Dec. 16, 2 pm and 7 pm; Thursday, Dec. 20, 2 pm and 7 pm; Friday, Dec. 21, 2 pm and 7 pm; Saturday, Dec. 22, 2 pm and 7 pm; Sunday, Dec. 23, 2 pm and 7 pm; Monday, Dec. 24, 2 pm; Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2 pm and 7 pm; and Thursday, Dec. 27 at 2 pm.   Pricing and Tickets: Single tickets, priced between $31 and $132, are available for purchase at The Joffrey Ballet’s official Box Office (Joffrey Tower, 10 E. Randolph Street), The Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University box office, all Ticketmaster Ticket Centers, by telephone at (800) 982-2787 or online at www.ticketmaster.com.   Photographs by Herbert Migdoll